Note: The following article applies to both value maps and value models, but the article will be referring to value models only.
An existing value model can be saved either by a model owner or a user who has Edit access. Access permissions are granted by either a model owner or an administrator. A user is automatically granted owner rights when they create a new value model or make a copy of an existing value model.
The Save button is active whenever a user has Save permission. A red asterisk (appearing at the end of the value model name at the top of the page) indicates unsaved data changes. Note that all data is saved to the secured amazon cloud, so the user must have internet connectivity.
If a user does not have Save permission for a particular value model, known as View access, they will receive multiple notifications:
- A pop-up upon entering noting that the model is in read-only state.
- A “(read only)” note to the right of the value model name.
- A faded “Reload” button in place of the Save button.
When a model is in “read-only” state the user is free to make any changes, but unable to save them for future sessions. Therefore any changes will be lost upon exiting the model.
There are two situations when a user has Save permission, but is temporarily unable to Save (Save button is deactivated).
- When internet connectivity is lost. However, the save button can be revived once connectivity is reestablished, by clicking the More button and selecting Enable Save as long as the browser window is kept open.
- Another user with Save permission has already opened the value model. In this situation, the first user retains Save permission. However, subsequent users can request (and be granted save permission), by clicking on the Collaborator link.
Finally, a user can choose to open a value model multiple times in different browser tabs/windows. Note that this is similar to the situation above when there are multiple users, and only one of these tab/windows will have an active Save button.